Jobs/Roles in the ECE Community: Internationally

The three international ECE organizations that have appealed to me or that I would like to be apart of are the Academy for Educational Development, Care, and United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Operations.

The Academy for Educational Development (AED) is a non-profit organization that helps develop within the following areas; health, economic, civil society, and education (The Academy for Educational Development, 2019). The purpose of this organization is to create a positive impact through collaboration (The Academy for Educational Development, 2019). The Academy for Educational Develop has operates within the United States as well as around the world.  In this website I didn’t find any job openings but I did read that they are looking for educators and teachers to add to their staff. Being able to be part of an international organization that makes a difference by educating around the world.

Care is an organization helps families without resources send their children to school, deliver care packages for people in need, and help women build a better life for themselves, their families and their communities (Care, 2019). Care provides services in over 90 countries worldwide. One of the things that caught my attention about was the fact that this organization wants to empower women to make a difference in their community. Care’s mission is to work around the world saving lives by overcoming poverty and providing individuals with tools and skills necessary to do that (Care, 2019). The two jobs that have captured my interest are Senior Management, Charge Management and County Director, North Sudan. Some of the skills that are required for these positions are Bachelor’s Degree, 7-10 years combination of education and experience, demonstrated experience producing organization-wide communications and communication strategies, experience and knowledge of change management principles, methodologies, and tools, Microsoft office sills, organization skills, demonstrated self-awareness, leadership and interpersonal skills, management skills, and demonstrated interest and ability to give feedback, develop, motivate and lead a diverse team to achieve results.

The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Operations organizations provides educational tools so that they can live in a world free of hate and intolerance (The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Operations, 2019). This organization has been providing services for over 70 years. The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Operations believes that education is a human right for all throughout life (2019). This organization provides services from pre-school until higher education. One of the jobs that caught my attention was Chief Education Planning and Management Programme. Some of the skills, experience, and education needed for this position are a Master’s Degree in Education, planning and management skills, At least 10 years experience of working within the educational field, relevant international experience, ability to build, manage and promote effective teams. cross-sectoral collaboration and external partnerships, ability to plan, positive attitude, strong interpersonal and communication skills, Able to speak other languages, and experience in the formulation, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation of educational policy.

 

By researching International ECE organization I have learned that there are so many opportunities to provide services and become and advocate within the field of early childhood education with agencies I had no idea excited around the world.  I know that I still need experience, skills, and education for some of these job opportunities, but at this point I have hope that one day I can hold one of these jobs and make a difference internationally.

 

 

 

 

 

References

Academy for Educational Development. (n.d). Retrieved August 08, 2019, from http://academyforeducationaldevelopment.orghub.net/.

Care. (n.d.). Retrieved August 07, 2019, from https://www.care.org/our-work.

The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Operation (n.d). Retrieved August 08, 2019 from https://en.unesco.org/careers.

 

Published by

acatalan

I am a first generation college student. I am also the oldest of six children. From my siblings I have two nieces and two nephews which I adore and enjoy to spend time with. In my free time I enjoy reading and collecting books in hopes to one day have my own library in my house. I enjoy working, supporting, and guiding students to seek a higher education and make a difference within their families, their communities, and one day within society.

8 thoughts on “Jobs/Roles in the ECE Community: Internationally”

  1. Hi Anna
    I had never heard of CARE before until I read your blog so I went to their website so I could see what they were all about. I really liked that they focus on women and children. “School gives girls a chance at life, especially in areas of the world where child marriage, early motherhood and poverty are the only other options. We work to remove obstacles keeping girls from leading healthy, empowered lives” (CARE). This is something that we need to see more of!
    Christine
    Reference
    Care. (n.d.). Retrieved August 10, 2019, from https://www.care.org

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna,
    I had never heard about the CARE organization so it was great for me to read about the great work they do for children. I like the idea of helping to get much needed supplies to children and families in need, and helping women to build a better life. We need more caring organizations and people helping. Thank you for bringing this organization to my attention and I will definitely have to add it to my resource list.

    Kimberly

    Like

  3. Hey Anna,
    I didn’t know about the care organization. Thank you for sharing it with us! That’s awesome that they deliver care packages to the home! What a great way to still provide for families when they aren’t able to reach out. Many families don’t have cars or the means to travel so delivery is a great service to still serve to those families.
    Did you find any other job opportunities on these sites? I didn’t think about looking for opportunities at these organization, but now I think I will. I just went to indeed.com to look for jobs, but you have opened my horizons. I am going to see if there are any opportunities on these sites! Maybe we can find some that might fit us!

    Mellissa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mellissa,

      I am glad I was able to introduce you to an organization that makes such a huge difference.
      Yes if you look I did find jobs that would interest me and what the requirements and education needed for them.
      I am sure we can find jobs that capture out interest and where we can make a difference.

      Like

  4. Hi Anna, I agree with your final thoughts on your blog. Through this research it does help us understand how to become a better advocate for what we love to do.
    I as well took an interest in the organization CARE that you have shared. It is important to have organizations that support women as well as provide support for women and children.
    -Jazz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment