Scholar Practitioners Who Impact Future Change

Scholar Practitioner to Influence Future Change:

As a scholar practitioner it is my responsibility to continue to provide accurate and up to date information about the importance of evaluation in early childhood education programs. It is my responsibility as higher education educator to ensure that future educators understand that they have to learn that they have to continue to educate themselves on topics of importance within the field of early childhood education.

The Greatest Barrier for Educators:

I believe that one of the greatest barriers for educators is the lack of professional development, training, mentoring, and support to continue to educate themselves, which turns to a high teacher turnover rate. To avoid downfall, I believe that it is important to find organizations where I can encourage future educators to become members so they can be up to date with topics within the field of early childhood education and where they can to attend trainings, workshops, and attend conferences. Professional development is especially important lever for improving teaching practices in early childhood education (Schachter, 2015). Professional development has been linked to higher classroom quality practices which improve children’s learning (Schachter, 2015).

Another barrier for educators parent collaboration and participation. I have worked within the field of education for many years getting parents to participate and become involved in their child’s life is an everyday struggle. As an educator, I can also say that this will continue to be a struggle. Researches show that the involvement of parents in education and teaching is related to many variables. there are a number of studies showing that the academic achievement of individuals and their motivation to learn are related to the involvement of the parents to the schools (Erol, 2018). To avoid downfall, I believe educators need to continue to become creative ways to get parents involved.  

How to Minimize Barriers to ensure Effective Evaluation:

As an educator, to minimize barriers to effective evaluation would be to understand the evaluation that will take place or as an educator I will be conducting. As an educator, I would have to understand the process of evaluation, the outcome, and what will the results do. How will they impact all stakeholders involved. As an educator I have to also ensure that I have strong collaboration and communication skills with my colleagues, administrators, parents, and community. It is important to also be aware of resources within the community where families can take children and where children can be provided with additional assistance in order to ensure healthy development and academic success.

Resources:

Erol, Y. C. & Turhan, M. (2018).  The relationship between parental involvement to education of students and student’s engagement to school. International Online Journal of Educational Science, 10(5), 260-281. DOI.org/10.15345/iojes.2018.05.017.

Schachter, R. E. (2015). An analytic study of the professional development research in early childhood education. Early Education and Development, 26: 1057-1085. DOI: 10.1080/10409289.2015.1009335.

Published by

acatalan

I am a first generation college student. I am also the oldest of six children. From my siblings I have two nieces and two nephews which I adore and enjoy to spend time with. In my free time I enjoy reading and collecting books in hopes to one day have my own library in my house. I enjoy working, supporting, and guiding students to seek a higher education and make a difference within their families, their communities, and one day within society.

Leave a comment